بسنا بتالزمزازميم



CIVIL AVIATION DEPARTMENT

Male' Republic of Maldives

AIR TRANSPORT CIRCULAR

No:

AT 01/2007

Issue:

02

Dated:

16 May 2011

Effective: Forthwith

DISINSECTION OF AIRCRAFT ARRIVING FROM COUNTRIES WHERE MALARIA AND YELLOW FEVER IS PREVALENT

1.0 Introduction

- 1.1 The Centre for Community Health and Disease Control (CCHDC) has advised us that all International airlines operating to the Maldives be reminded of the requirement to disinsect the aircraft arriving from countries where Malaria and Yellow fever is prevalent.
- 1.2. Whilst its is recognized that yellow fever do not exist in the Maldives and Malaria has been eradicated, we urge all airlines to assist CCHDC in its efforts to prevent influx of mosquito borne diseases into the Maldives.

2.0 Requirement

- 2.1 All airlines operating from/via airports situated in countries which have been indicated by the World Health Organisation (WHO) as Malaria or Yellow fever endemic are required to disinsect the aircraft flight deck, cargo compartments, cargo containers etc; using methods approved by WHO.
- 2.2 This action must be properly recorded in the Health Section of the General Declaration and shall be submitted to Port Health along with the used Aerosol Spray cans.
- 2.3 A fact sheet containing a list of Malaria or Yellow fever endemic countries / territories and the amount of Aerosol Spray required for aircraft spraying is given in Appendix-1 for your information.
- 2.4 Should you require further clarification with respect to WHO approved methods of disinsecting, kindly contact Centre for Community and Disease Control (Telephone: 960 3323516, Fax: 960 3303506).

3.0 Applicability

3.1 The requirement in this circular applies to all Airlines operating International flights to the Republic of Maldives.

Hussein Jaleel

DEPUTY DIRECTOR GENERAL

COUNTRY DATA, BY REGION

MALARIA Regional and subregional classification of countries and territories

The information from countries and territories considered to be malaria-endemic is presented from three broad global regions: Africa, Asia and the Americas, which are further divided into subregions. Groupings are based on geographical proximity and, secondarily, on existing WHO regional groupings.

AFRICA

Central Africa: Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Sao Tome and Principe

East Africa: Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Mayotte, Rwanda, Somalia, Sudan, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania

North Africa: Algeria, Egypt, Morocco

Southern Africa: Angola, Botswana, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe

West Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo

ASIA

Central Asia and Transcaucasia: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan

Eastern Mediterranean: Afghanistan, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Oman, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Syrian Arab Republic, Turkey, Yemen

South-East Asia: Bangladesh, Bhutan, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, India, Indonesia, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor-Leste

Western Pacific: Cambodia, China, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Viet Nam

THE AMERICAS

Central America and the Caribbean: Belize, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama

South America: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Venezuela

YELLOW FEVER

(a) The following countries/areas are endemic for yellow fever (as defined by the International travel and health publication, annex 2):1

AFRICA

Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Togo and Uganda.

AMERICAS

Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guyana, Guyana, Panama, Peru, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago and Venezuela.

All travelers arriving from countries at risk of yellow fever transmission must present a valid yellow fever vaccination certificate in accordance with the International Health Regulations. In the absence of such a certificate, the person will be vaccinated upon arrival and placed under strict surveillance for 6 days from the day of vaccination or the last date of potential exposure to infection, whichever is earlier. Health offices at entry points will be responsible for notifying the appropriate Director-General of Health Affairs in the region or governorate about the place of residence of the visitor.

(b) Aircraft and other means of transportation arriving from areas infected with yellow fever are requested to submit a certificate indicating disinsection in accordance with the International Health Regulations.

AMOUNT OF AEROSOL SPRAY REQUIRED FOR AIRCRAFT SPRAYING

NO	TYPE OF AIRCRAFT	QTY
1	AN 8 / AN 12	100 g
2	B737 / DC8 / SE210 / CONCORDE	60 g
3	A320 / MD83 / B707 / B727 / A300 / A310	120 g
4	TRISTAR / DC10 / MD 11 / B767	240 g
5	B747 / A330 / A340 / B777	320 g